Reflection

An interpersonal communication issue that I had experienced was during my internship at Hotel Jen as a front office trainee. As a front office trainee, my role was to complete the registration formalities for the guests upon check-in, and to assign a designated room for their stay.

This incident happened when I was performing the check-out process for a guest from a particular room. Upon clicking in to the billing screen, there was an alert notification, stating “Room blocked for VIP early arrival. Kindly contact housekeeping to clean room ASAP when guest checks out.” Hence, after completing the check-out formalities for the guest, I immediately dialed for the housekeeping coordinator. I informed her that the room is to be made up as soon as possible so that amenities could be sent in before arrival of the next guest. She acknowledged verbally over the phone and hung up. Unfortunately, when the guest arrives at the hotel at 4 pm, the room that was blocked for the guest was still not cleaned yet. The status of the room on the reservations screen appeared to be “dirty”. To add on to that, the hotel was running at a very high occupancy for that day.

I felt very upset because I have contacted the housekeeping coordinator personally to ensure that the room was to be made up the soonest. This clearly shows miscommunication between the two departments, front office and housekeeping. Looking back, the possible root cause of this miscommunication could be because I did not place enough emphasis on the fact that the room is going to be occupied by a VIP, hence, cleaning of that room was not placed as their priority. Another possible root cause was because I did not send a request through the electronic system, hence, the housekeeping department did not have any records on file. On the other hand, the housekeeping coordinator could be too busy to handle the multiple calls on hand since it was a busy day, and forgotten about my call.

Reflecting on this incident, I truly understand how crucial communication is, especially in the context of hotel, where every department have to cooperate and work together, to get the tasks done. It was definitely a lesson learnt, by heart.

I felt apologetic towards the guest, what kind of service recovery can be done? What should I have done differently to ensure that the message is passed across clearly?

Looking back at this unfortunate incident, it dawned on me that this communication gap could have been avoided should I have handled the situation better. Reflecting back on this incident, coupled with the advice that Eline and Eon has provided me, I believe the situation would have been under control should the following steps be taken.

Like what Eline and Eon has suggested, this issue could have been avoided if I have told the housekeeping coordinator that the room was meant for a VIP. By reminding the housekeeping team that the room is reserved for VIP, this will push them to prioritize the room for cleaning.

Based on Eon’s recommendation, leveraging on the system to make an electronic request is also what could have been done differently. By sending request through the electronic system, it serves as a good way to ensure ease of tracing responsibility should there be any occurrence of unpleasant consequences.

Some possible forms of service recovery that I could have provided to guests include room upgrade to higher category with complimentary amenities such as daily fruits bowl, free dining vouchers or even extended late check-out.

Last but not least, applying what we have learnt in the Thomas-Kilmann Conflict Mode Instrument, the compromising mode should be adopted. The compromising mode falls intermediate between competing and accommodating. In this case, I am required to “compete” because I need to emphasise to the housekeeping coordinator the importance of having the room cleaned up ASAP so as to prepare for the VIP’s arrival. On the other hand, I could have been more accommodating by understanding the rooms situation (high occupancy) and to send a few more gentle reminders to the housekeeping coordinator to clean the room. I could even take the initiative to set-up some amenities in the VIP room first, to ease the load of the housekeeping team. Hence, this results in a quick middle-ground solution.

In essence, communication is extremely crucial, especially in the context of hotel, where every department have to cooperate and work together, to get the tasks done. Thus, with these solutions in place, it will help to maintain a good working relationship between colleagues and to make the hotel a better working environment.

 Read: Darren, Eline, Eon, Russell

Commented: Eon, Eline

7 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. ellyskies says:

    Dear Shu Fang,

    Your detailed and well-constructed reflection allowed me to realize the importance of interpersonal communication as well as the consequences it would bring should it be absent.

    I too agree with you that this issue could have been avoided if you told the housekeeping coordinator that the room was meant for a VIP as they might think that the room is for another guest and that you were telling her to make up the room as soon as possible due to the high occupancy.

    Additionally, maybe you should have also sent a request to the housekeeping department for follow ups so that the coordinator can cross check and ensure that the rooms that were to be made up were done before the arrival of the guests.

    Lastly, I feel that a possible form of service recovery that you could have provided might be providing late check out, delivering free amenities or free dining vouchers for the VIP. Overall, your reflection indicated a great thought process given your concise and well written post.

    I look forward to your upcoming posts!

    Cheers,
    Eline

    Like

    • awesumbananaz says:

      Hey Eline,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and to provide me with suggestions on my post! I agree with you that this situation could have been avoided if I had emphasised on the importance of cleaning up the room in time for the VIP. On top of that, I loved the service recovery idea that you provided such as the dining vouchers and free amenities.

      Look forward to see you in class soon!

      With love,
      Shufang

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eon Yang says:

    Hello Shu Fang,

    This scenario seems like a common issue that probably many of us have experienced while working in the hotel. I personally have similar encounter for several times. Therefore, I feel that it is a good discussion to help our peers to stay cautious especially those who are going to be involved in front-line operations for their IWSP.

    I also believe that proper communication could help to prevent this incident from happening. Reminding housekeeping that the room is reserved for VIP will definitely push them to prioritize it for cleaning. In addition, you could extend empathy towards housekeeping colleagues, understanding that it was a mentally and physically challenging day for them. With that thought in mind, perhaps you will give them a few more gentle reminders to clean and set-up amenities in the VIP room first.

    An electronic request made through the system is surely important as it is the formal way to make request. Electronic record is also a good way to ensure responsibility can be traced should there be any occurrence of unpleasant consequences.

    Possible forms of service recovery could be a room upgrade to higher category with complimentary amenities such as daily fruits bowl. Extended late check-out is another idea depending on the needs and schedule of the VIP guests. Overall, your reflection is meaningful which encourages critical insight and learning.

    Keep up the good work and I look forward to your next post!

    Cheers,

    Eon

    Like

    • awesumbananaz says:

      Hi Eon,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and to provide me with wonderful solutions! I appreciate all the comments you gave and agree that it is a good idea to provide room upgrade and and complimentary amenities for our valued guests!

      Look forward to see you in class soon!

      Love,
      Shufang

      Like

  3. Brad says:

    This is a really excellent response to the assigned topic, Shu Fang. You present a detailed description of the work scenario and the interpersonal issue at hand. You also do a critical debrief. At the same time, you allow space for your readers to offer you advice, and you pose the request as a clear question.

    This is a model answer. I hope you don’t mind if I share this. 🙂

    Like

  4. awesumbananaz says:

    Hi Brad

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read my reflection amidst your busy schedule. I appreciate all the kind comments you have provided me as a guide for me to improve on my communication skills. I would be happy to share this reflection if it helps facilitate learning for everyone. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Shufang

    Like

Leave a comment